• List of Regional Transport Offices in Karnataka

    Car Insurance
    • Protect yourself with third party or comprehensive cover
    • Use bumper to bumper policies to reduce your liability
    • Enjoy facilities like zero depreciation and roadside assistance covers

    For those residing in the state of Karnataka, if they wish to drive their vehicle on the roads of the state, they need to have a valid driving license. The driving license will be issued by the Regional Transport Office only once the candidate clears the driving license test which is conducted in the Regional Transport office in the jurisdiction of the candidate. For every area or jurisdiction in the state, a Regional Transport Office is present, and for driving-related services, vehicle users need to visit the RTO in their area. 

    Not just the issuance of a driving license, Regional Transport Offices carry out services such as issuance of the learner’s license test, issuance of duplicate driving license, and renewal of a driving license. In addition, all vehicles in the jurisdiction of the RTO need to be registered with it for it to be deemed road legal. For this, the registration of the vehicle is done at the RTO, re-registration, payment of road tax and other services that the State Transport Department of Karnataka carried out.  

    Services offered by Regional Transport Offices in Karnataka 

    Listed below are the services carried out by Regional Transport Offices across the state of Karnataka on behalf of the State Transport Department:  

    • Issuance of the learner’s license and permanent driving license document.  
    • The Regional Transport Office conducts the written test for the learner’s license and the practical driving test for the permanent driving license.  
    • Registration of vehicles in the state. All private and commercial vehicles have to be registered in the state in order to ply on the road.  
    • Re-registration of a vehicle if the vehicle was originally registered in another state.  
    • Issuance of the fitness certificate. A fitness certificate is compulsory for commercial vehicles and for private vehicles that are more than 15 years old.  
    • Renewal of the permanent driving license.  
    • Issuance of a duplicate driving license.  
    • Cancellation of a vehicle registration.  
    • Assigning a registration number and number plate of a vehicle.  
    • Receiving payments for road tax.  
    • Issuance of a No Objection Certificate for transfer of ownership of a vehicle.  
    • Issuance of a No Objection Certificate for change of address and if the vehicle owner is shifting to another state and wishes or the vehicle to be re-registered.  

    List of Regional Transport Offices in Karnataka 

    Listed in the table below are the Regional Transport Offices in Karnataka and their code:  

    RTOs in Karnataka  Regional Transport Office code 
    Bangalore (Central)  KA-01 
    Bangalore (East)  KA-03 
    Bangalore (West)  KA -02 
    Bangalore (North)  KA-04 
    Tumkur  KA-06 
    Bangalore (South)  KA-05 
    Kolar  KA-07 
    Mysore (West)  KA-09 
    KGF  KA-08 
    Chamarajanagar  KA-10 
    Mandya  KA-11 
    Hassan  KA-13 
    Madikeri  KA-12 
    Shimoga  KA-14 
    Sagar  KA-15 
    Davangere  KA-17 
    Chitradurga  KA-16 
    Chikmagalur  KA-18 
    Mangalore  KA –19 
    Puttur  KA-21 
    Udupi  KA-20 
    Belgaum  KA-22 
    Bailhongal  KA-24 
    Chikkodi  KA-23 
    Gadag  KA-27 
    Dharwad  KA-25 
    Haveri  KA-27 
    Bijapur  KA-28 
    Karwar  KA-30 
    Bagalkot  KA-29 
    Sirsi  KA-31 
    Yadgir  KA-33 
    Hospet  KA-35 
    Bellary  KA-34 
    Raichur  KA-36 
    Koppal  KA-37 
    Bidar  KA-38 
    Chikkaballapur  KA-40 
    Bhalki  KA-39 
    Jnanabharathi, Bangalore  KA-41 
    Devanahalli, Bangalore (Rural) District  KA-43 
    Ramanagara, Bangalore (Rural) District.  KA-42 
    Tiptur, Tumkur District  KA-44 
    Sakleshpur, Hassan District  KA-46 
    Hunsur, Mysore District  KA-45 
    Honnavar, North Kannada District  KA-47 
    Gokak, Belgaum DistrictKA-49  KA-49 
    Jamkhandi, Bagalkote District  KA-48 
    Yelahanka, Bangalore  KA-50 
    Nelamangala, Bangalore District  KA-52 
    Electronic City, Bangalore  KA-51 
    Nagamangala, Mandya District  KA-54 
    KR Puram, Bangalore  KA-53 
    Mysore (East)  KA-55 
    Basavakalyan  KA-56 
    State Transport Corporation (STU) - Autorickshaw, Bangalore.  KA-57 
    Chamrajpet, Bangalore  KA-59 
    Banashankari, Bangalore  KA-58 
    RT Nagar, Bangalore  KA-60 
    Marathahalli, Bangalore  KA-61 
    Surathkal, Dakshina Kannada  KA-62 
    Dharwad (East), Dharwad District  KA-63 
    Dandeli, Uttara Kannada District  KA-65 
    Madhugiri, Tumkur District  KA-64 
    Tarikere, Chikmagalur District  KA-66 
    Ranibennur, Haveri District  KA-68 
    Chintamani, Chikkaballapur District  KA-67 
    Ramdurg Belgaum district  KA-69 
    Bantwal, Dakshina Kannada District  KA-70 

    Depending on the jurisdiction of the vehicle user, he/she needs to approach any of the Regional Transport Offices for any driving related services or services related to his/her vehicle. To drive legally on the roads of the state and the rest of the country, as per the Motor Vehicles Act, 1988, the vehicle user as well as the vehicle have to be registered in the RTO of his/her jurisdiction. Once the RTO issues the permanent driving license and the registration certificate of the vehicle, the vehicle user has to carry the documents when driving on the roads of the state.  

    News About Karnataka RTO

    • New cab owners await vehicle registration in Bengaluru

      Individuals who have recently purchased cars for commercial purposes have been awaiting registration in the city of Bengaluru. The delay has been caused by the refusal of registration by RTO officials to register new cabs without the panic button and vehicle location tracking device. The Karnataka government, however, had informed the Transport Ministry that the implementation would take about 6 more months. Transport Minister D.C. Thammanna had started the programme to install the panic button and VLT in commercial cars around the first week of January. However, many argued that the idea could not be implemented without the necessary infrastructure. Since no command and control centre has been set up to drive the programme, the state government stated that it would implement the idea in the last week of July. Cab owners have been severely affected by the non-registration of cabs as they cannot use the vehicle until the registration is done. This has left about 1,000 new vehicles unregistered.

      22 February 2019

    *The customer reviews/feedback/opinions expressed on this website are solely of their authors and do not reflect, in any way, the view of BankBazaar Insurance.

    Display of any trademarks, tradenames, logos and other subject matters of intellectual property belong to their respective intellectual property owners. Display of such IP along with the related product information does not imply BankBazaar's partnership with the owner of the Intellectual Property or issuer/manufacturer of such products.