• Meghalaya RTO

    Car Insurance
    • Protect yourself with third party or comprehensive cover
    • Use bumper to bumper policies to reduce your liability
    • Enjoy facilities like zero depreciation and roadside assistance covers

    The Transport Department of Meghalaya is responsible for enforcing the provisions of the Central Motor Vehicles Rules, 1989 and the Central Motor Vehicles Act, 1988. The transport department also implements the laws that are specified under the Meghalaya Motor Vehicles Taxation Act and the Meghalaya Motor Vehicles Taxation Rules.  

    The transport department of the state is in charge of supervising and regulating the workings of Regional Transport Authorities and State Transport Authorities, which are the two bodies that function under the transport department.  

    Thus, Regional Transport Offices (RTOs) in the state assist the Transport Department of Meghalaya in administering and enforcing the laws as per the Motor Vehicles Act, 1988.  

    Functions of the Meghalaya Transport Department 

    A few key functions of the transport department and the RTOs that function under them are as follows: 

    • Collection of fees and taxes: The transport department/RTOs in Meghalaya are responsible for the collection of any fees or taxes related to motor vehicles. 
    • Vehicle registration: RTOs are responsible for the registration of motorised vehicles, as required by the Motor Vehicles Act, 1988. Any services related to the registration of motor vehicles are also dealt with by RTOs.  
    • Issue of fitness certificates: Fitness certificates are issued to commercial vehicles after a thorough inspection is conducted by the Motor Vehicles Inspector.  
    • Renewal of fitness certificates: The department is responsible for renewing expired fitness certificates of motor vehicles, if an application is made for the same.  
    • Issuance of the Driving Licence: The driving licence, which is a mandatory legal requirement for those who wish to operate motor vehicles in the country, is issued by RTOs. The licence will be issued if the applicant clears the applicable test and is found to be competent.  
    • Renewal of Licences: The driving licence, which is valid for a total period of 20 years or until the licence holder attains that age of 50 years, will have to be renewed once it is expired. Thus, driving licence holders can approach the nearest RTO in Meghalaya to get their licence renewed.  
    • Regulation of commercial vehicles: The department and the bodies that function under it are in charge of controlling and regulating transport/commercial vehicles in the state.  
    • Issuance of road permits: The duty of issuing road permits to transport vehicles or public service vehicles is taken up the transport department/RTOs. They are also responsible for renewing these permits, when an application is submitted for the same. 
    • Detection of irregularities: Any illegal plying of motor vehicles in the state is detected and controlled through the enforcement staff in the state.  
    • Compounding or disposal of offences: Cases where the vehicle owner violates the provisions of the Motor Vehicles Act are disposed of or compounded by the concerned authorities. 
    • Providing pool cars: The department is also responsible for services like providing pool cars to VIPs. 

    In addition to the above-mentioned functions, any other matters that relate to the provisions of the Motor Vehicles Act, 1988 or transport administration is undertaken by the transport department/RTOs in the state. 

    While the above-mentioned functions and activities are undertaken by the authorities through offline channels, the Transport Department of Meghalaya also gives vehicle owners the option to avail a number of vehicle-related services online through the official website of the Ministry of Road Transport and Highways. 

    RTO Locations and Codes in Meghalaya 

    RTO Location  RTO Code 
    Meghalaya  ML01 
    Meghalaya  ML02 
    Meghalaya  ML03 
    Jaintia Hills  ML04 
    Shillong  ML05 
    West Khasi Hills  ML06 
    East Garo Hills  ML07 
    West Garo Hills  ML08 
    South Garo Hills  ML09 
    Ri-Bhoi  ML10 

    Based on where you reside, you can visit an RTO in your jurisdiction, when required.  

    The content on this website is meant only for general information purpose and does not and shall not be construed as any solicitation, procurement, display, aggregation, marketing or advertisement of insurance products. BankBazaarInsurance is not an insurance intermediary and hence does not endorse or solicit any such products. The information on this website is derived from publicly available sources and BankBazaarInsurance cannot verify or confirm the genuineness, truth, veracity or authenticity of this information.

    Display of any trademarks, tradenames, logos and other subject matters of intellectual property belong to their respective intellectual property owners. Display of such IP along with the related product information does not imply BankBazaar's partnership with the owner of the Intellectual Property or issuer/manufacturer of such products.