• Uttar Pradesh RTO 

    Car Insurance
    • Get quotes from multiple insurers
    • Choose from a variety of zero depreciation and roadside assistance covers
    • 3100+ cashless garages

    According to The Motor Vehicles Act, 1988, if you own a vehicle, then it is mandatory for you to get it registered with a Regional Transport Office (RTO) in the district where you reside. If you are a resident of Uttar Pradesh or wish to drive your vehicle on the roads which come under the jurisdiction of the Uttar Pradesh Transport Department, then it is important that you get your vehicle registered at one of the RTOs in Uttar Pradesh. 

    An RTO has to carry out various other functions apart from registering vehicles. They issue and renew driving license, issue learner’s license if you are learning how to drive, etc. among various other functions they carry out. 

    How to register your vehicle with an RTO in Uttar Pradesh? 

    You will have to visit the nearest RTO in Uttar Pradesh to get your vehicle registered. You will have to submit relevant forms including Form 20 which will be verified by an official from the RTO and then pay the registration fee. The RTO official will then verify all the documents provided by you. Once the official is satisfied that all the details stated by you on the document are true, the RTO office will send you your Registration Card (RC) via post to your residential address. 

    Documents required for vehicle registration in Uttar Pradesh RTO  

    Below is the list of documents that you will have to submit to an RTO in Uttar Pradesh: 

    • Form 20. 
    • Form 21 which mentions the details of both the buyer and the seller. 
    • Form 22 which is the roadworthiness certificate. The certificate states that the vehicle meets all the parameters required to be eligible to be driven on an Indian road and is completely safe in nature. 
    • Custom Clearance Certificate if the vehicle is imported. 
    • Valid insurance certificate. 
    • Address Proof such as passport, utility bills, voter ID, life insurance policy document, salary slip issued by an official from the Central Government or the State Government. 
    • Form A under Taxation Act, 1997. 
    • Copy of the temporary registration of the vehicle. 
    • Physical production of the vehicle. 
    • Registration fee. 
    • Passport size photographs of the owner of the vehicle. 

    Major functions of RTOs in Uttar Pradesh 

    Some of the major functions of the RTOs in Uttar Pradesh are: 

    • Issuing and renewing driver's license. 
    • Issuing and renewing permanent license. 
    • Issuing duplicate license. 
    • Addition of a new class of vehicles. 
    • Issuing international driving license. 
    • Altering the details in a driving license. 
    • Issuing fancy number plates. 
    • Issuing and renewing conductor’s license. 
    • Alteration in conductor’s license. 
    • Issuing duplicate conductor’s license. 
    • Transferring the ownership of a vehicle from one person to another. 
    • Issuing permits for transport vehicles. 
    • Issuing No-Objection Certificate for the registration of the vehicle in other states. 
    • Issuing and renewing registration card. 
    • Re-assigning new registration mark. 

    RTOs in Uttar Pradesh and their codes 

    RTO  RTO Codes 
    Saharanpur  UP-11 
    Muzaffarnagar  UP-12 
    Bulandshahr  UP-13 
    Ghaziabad  UP-14 
    Meerut UP-15 
    Noida  UP-16 
    Bagpat  UP-17 
    Greater Noida  UP-18 
    Shamli  UP-19 
    Bijnor  UP-20 
    Moradabad  UP-21 
    Rampur  UP-22 
    Jyotiba Phule Nagar  UP-23 
    Badaun  UP-24 
    Bareilly  UP-25 
    Pilibhit  UP-26 
    Shahjahanpur  UP-27 
    Ayodhya  UP-28 
    Yusuf  UP-29 
    Hardoi  UP-30 
    Kheri  UP-31 
    Lucknow UP-32 
    Raebareli  UP-33 
    Sitapur  UP-34 
    Unnao  UP-35 
    Amethi district  UP-36 
    Hapur  UP-37 
    Sambhal  UP-38 
    Bahraich  UP-40 
    Barabanki  UP-41 
    Faizabad  UP-42 
    Gonda  UP-43 
    Sultanpur  UP-44 
    Ambedkar Nagar  UP-45 
    Shrawasti  UP-46 
    Balrampur  UP-47 
    Azamgarh  UP-50 
    Basti  UP-51 
    Deoria  UP-52 
    Gorakhpur  UP-53 
    Mau  UP-54 
    Siddharth Nagar  UP-55 
    Mahrajganj  UP-56 
    Padrauna  UP-57 
    Sant Kabir Nagar  UP-58 
    Ballia  UP-60 
    Ghazipur  UP-61 
    Jaunpur  UP-62 
    Mirzapur  UP-63 
    Sonbhadra  UP-64 
    Varanasi  UP-65 
    Bhadohi  UP-66 
    Chandauli  UP-67 
    Allahabad  UP-70 
    Fatehpur  UP-71 
    Pratapgarh  UP-72 
    Kaushambi  UP-73 
    Kannauj  UP-74 
    Etawah  UP-75 
    Farrukhabad  UP-76 
    Kanpur Dehat (rural)  UP-77 
    Kanpur  UP-78 
    Auraiya  UP-79 
    Agra  UP-80 
    Aligarh  UP-81 
    Etah  UP-82 
    Firozabad  UP-83 
    Mainpuri  UP-84 
    Mathura  UP-85 
    Mahamaya Nagar  UP-86 
    Kanshiram Nagar  UP-87 
    Banda  UP-90 
    Hamirpur  UP-91 
    Jalaun  UP-92 
    Jhansi  UP-93 
    Lalitpur  UP-94 
    Mahoba  UP-95 
    Chitrakoot Dham  UP-96 

    Thus, it is important that you register your vehicle before driving it on the roads of Uttar Pradesh. The process of getting your vehicle is very simple in nature. You can visit the nearest RTO in the district where you reside and furnish the required documents to get your vehicle registered. Once you have submitted all the documents and paid the registration fees, an official from the RTO will verify the document. Once the authorities are satisfied that the documents furnished by you are authentic, they will send you your RC via post to your communication address. 

    The content on this website is meant only for general information purpose and does not and shall not be construed as any solicitation, procurement, display, aggregation, marketing or advertisement of insurance products. BankBazaarInsurance is not an insurance intermediary and hence does not endorse or solicit any such products. The information on this website is derived from publicly available sources and BankBazaarInsurance cannot verify or confirm the genuineness, truth, veracity or authenticity of this information.

    Display of any trademarks, tradenames, logos and other subject matters of intellectual property belong to their respective intellectual property owners. Display of such IP along with the related product information does not imply BankBazaar's partnership with the owner of the Intellectual Property or issuer/manufacturer of such products.