• How to apply for fancy registration number in Karnataka

    Two Wheeler Insurance
    • Get quotes from multiple insurers
    • Cashless garages available
    • Buy/renew your policy online without hassles

    The number of two-wheelers in Karnataka has increased in volumes over the past decade. Due to which, the popularity of the fancy registration number has also increased. Many people believe that special numbers can bring good fortune to them. Hence, there is no scarcity of people who fancy for such numbers. The Transport Department of Karnataka has earned crores of rupees by fancy number allotment and people have bid lakhs of rupees for their desired fancy registration number.

    Studies say that a fancy vehicle registration number can speak volumes about the person who owns it. Many people choose their fancy number as per numerology, date of birth, religion, lucky number, etc. So to obtain a fancy vehicle registration number in Karnataka, it is necessary to know the right procedure to apply for it.

    When you apply for a fancy number, please bear in mind that others also might apply for the same number. Hence, your desired number may be auctioned as well, so be prepared to bid higher if the number is auctioned. If no one else is bidding on your desired fancy number, the RTO will allot the number for your application. The number allotted to you is valid for 3 months from the date of issue. So within 3 months you have to complete the remaining process to claim the registered number.

    Below mentioned are the steps you need to follow to apply for a fancy registration number in Karnataka:

    • Log on to the RTO website to know the list of documents you have to submit and Click the Motor Vehicle registration option available on the left side of the screen which will guide you to the next page with a list of vehicle registration facilities.
    • Click on ‘A new registration method option’ to apply for the new vehicle registration number. The list of documents you need to submit will be displayed on the screen.
    • You can also check for the available fancy numbers for your district as per the zones on the website.
    • You will get three options mentioning the numbers reserved by the RTO in current series, numbers reserved beyond 1000 numbers by the Transport Commissioner in the current series, and numbers reserved by the Transport Commissioner in advanced series.
    • Depending upon your requirement, you can click on either of the options and check for availability.
    • The chart of fancy numbers will have three colors, green indicates available numbers, blue indicates booked numbers, and red indicates registered numbers.
    • On the right hand side of the chart, you have an option to change the series of number. For example: if the desired number is not available in MC series, you can click on the ME series, to know if your desired number is available in that series.
    • If it is available in that series, then you can apply for fancy number in that series.
    • Once you finalize the series number and check the availability, submit an application under Section 47 (1) as per the Central Motor Vehicles Rules 1989, to the RTO authority or Transport Commissioner for allotment of fancy number with all the documents listed in the website.
    • Pay the registration fee as applicable to the Regional Transport Officer. For two-wheelers, a registration fee of Rs.6,000 has to be paid for running series and Rs.25,000 for advance series. For Light Motor Vehicles (LMV), the registration fee is Rs.20,000 for running series and Rs.75,000 for advance series. For other vehicles, the registration fee is Rs.30,000 for running series and Rs.75,000 for advance series.
    • The RTO will reserve the number for your application once the fancy number is assigned to you. The registration number has to be claimed by you within 3 months from the date of issuance. If the number is not claimed by you, the registration fee will be forfeited.

    For further clarity on the allotment process, you can visit the nearest RTO office for more information.

    RTO codes as per the district:

    RTO code District
    KA – 01 Bengaluru – Central
    KA – 02 Bengaluru – West
    KA – 03 Bengaluru – East
    KA – 04 Bengaluru – North
    KA – 05 Bengaluru – South
    KA – 06 Tumakuru
    KA – 07 Kolar
    KA – 08 Kolar Gold Fields (KGF)
    KA – 09 Mysuru West
    KA – 10 Chamrajnagar
    KA – 11 Mandya
    KA – 12 Madikeri
    KA – 13 Hassan
    KA – 14 Shimoga
    KA – 15 Sagar
    KA – 16 Chitradurga
    KA – 17 Davanagere
    KA – 18 Chikmagalur
    KA – 19 Dakshina Kannada
    KA – 20 Udupi
    KA – 21 Puttur
    KA – 22 Belgaum
    KA – 23 Chikkodi
    KA – 24 Bailhongal
    KA – 25 Dharwad
    KA – 26 Gadag
    KA – 27 Haveri
    KA – 28 Bijapur
    KA – 29 Bagalkot
    KA – 30 Karwar
    KA – 31 Sirsi
    KA – 32 Gulbarga
    KA – 33 Yadgir
    KA – 34 Bellary
    KA – 35 Hospet
    KA – 36 Raichur
    KA – 37 Koppal
    KA – 38 Bidar
    KA – 39 Bhalki
    KA – 40 Chikkaballapur
    KA – 41 Jnanabharathi
    KA – 42 Ramanagara
    KA – 43 Devanahalli
    KA – 44 Tiptur
    KA – 45 Hunsur, Mysuru District
    KA – 46 Sakleshpur , Hassan District
    KA – 47 Honnavar
    KA – 48 Jamakhandi
    KA – 49 Gokak
    KA – 50 Bengaluru Northern Suburbs: Yelahanka
    KA – 51 Bengaluru Southern Suburbs: Electronics City
    KA – 52 Nelamangala - Bengaluru Rural District
    KA – 53 Krishnarajapuram - Bengaluru Eastern Suburbs
    KA – 54 Nagamangala
    KA – 55 Mysuru (East)
    KA – 56 Basavakalyan
    KA – 57 Bengaluru STU and AR
    KA – 58 Banashankari, Bengaluru Urban District
    KA – 59 Chamarajpet, Bengaluru Urban District
    KA – 60 RT Nagar, Bengaluru Urban District
    KA – 61 Marathahalli, Bengaluru District
    KA – 62 Surathkal, Dakshina Kannada District
    KA – 63 Hubballi
    KA – 64 Madhugiri, Tumkur District
    KA – 65 Dandeli, Karwar District
    KA – 66 Tarikere

    The content on this website is meant only for general information purpose and does not and shall not be construed as any solicitation, procurement, display, aggregation, marketing or advertisement of insurance products. BankBazaarInsurance is not an insurance intermediary and hence does not endorse or solicit any such products. The information on this website is derived from publicly available sources and BankBazaarInsurance cannot verify or confirm the genuineness, truth, veracity or authenticity of this information.

    Display of any trademarks, tradenames, logos and other subject matters of intellectual property belong to their respective intellectual property owners. Display of such IP along with the related product information does not imply BankBazaar's partnership with the owner of the Intellectual Property or issuer/manufacturer of such products.